My Life’s Soundtrack, Such As It Is…

I love music, all kinds, and I came to realize awhile ago how it affects my life even when I’m not conscious of it.  My life hasn’t really been exciting enough to have a soundtrack, but I have always tended to use music to remember milestones in my life, both big and small.  I know that this is the case for many people.   I don’t really collect ticket stubs anymore; I don’t save cards and letters.  As a matter of fact, I don’t have as many music-related memories as I used to. This is probably due to the fact that (a) I suppose I’ve grown up quite a bit, and I just don’t do that kind of thing anymore, and/or (b) my husband and I just don’t like the same kind of music, so we rarely have shared memories to certain songs…though we do have a few really great ones.  So, here are some of the songs that bring back memories for me, from childhood up until the present:

(I’m sure this is hugely uninteresting to most people, but it’s very cathartic for me)

The first 45 that I ever bought:  Puppy Love – Donny Osmond (this is atrocious!)

The first album that I ever bought:  Hotel California – The Eagles

The song that played when I performed a baton-routine with another girl in elementary school:

Hanky Panky – Tommy James and the Shondells

The song that was playing on someone’s cassette player when I fell off the swings and broke my leg in 6th gradeMisunderstanding – Genesis (I’ll never forget that!)

Song we used to listen to on the playground and giggle to:  Big Balls– AC/DC

A friend’s older brother had the tape and she brought it to school most every day . . .

The first concert I attended: Rick Springfield

The last concert I attended: Gordon Lightfoot  (don’t ask!)

The tapes Beth & I used to listen to the most while cruising in the Chevy Nova in high school: (I still love all of these songs to this day)

Depeche Mode – Just Can’t Get Enough, See You, Dreaming of Me

Tears for Fears – The Hurting CD

The songs I associate with riding around with Beth and Brian B in T-Town:

I Can’t Wait – Nu Shooz

You Talk Too Much – Run DMC

I’m A Ho – Whodini

The song I remember hearing when Cliffie would drive me around while I drank Sundrop and Schnapps:

Word Up – Cameo

The song that Rodney sang to me before he made out with me, and before he went to jail a year later, for a number of offenses:

You Really Got Me – The Kinks

Songs that my first boyfriend (who shall remain nameless) and I made out to: (AKA – songs to play to seduce a young girl, even though you are a huge ass and you are secretly engaged the whole time you are seducing her and talking about her behind her back):

But I’m NOT bitter!  🙂

Sittin’ On the Dock of the Bay – Otis Redding (the whole Otis songbook, actually)

Every Little Kiss – Bruce HornsbyNo video seems to be available, thank goodness!

Coming Around Again – Carly Simon

Loving You – Minnie Ripperton – too funny

Song that still makes me think of that bastard:

Magic Man – Heart

(used very effectively in The Virgin Suicides, might I add)

The songs that played when I went out with the jerk in college who wooed me with Boone’s Farm “wine” & expected me to pay for everything. We weren’t together very long:

all Lynyrd Skynyrd…all the time

Song that my college roommate and I knew by heart and would sing at any time. I still know every word & I’m proud of it! :

I Need Love – LL Cool J

Songs that remind me of my many trips to Florida with Kim

Head to Toe – Lisa Lisa & The Cult Jam

Don’t Disturb This Groove – The System

I still love this song, and it takes me back to the beach in a second.

Song that makes me think of fun times spent with Shelly & Kathryn:

Mickey – Toni Basil

Song that was playing on MTV when my guy friend and I got very drunk and made out for the first and only time (and he would still deny it to this day):

Head Over Feet – Alanis Morrisette

Songs that remind me of hanging out at the drag shows to see our friend perform:    Good times!

Position #9 – 20 Fingers

Right Back Where We Started From – Maxine Nightingale

The songs that remind me of a not-quite-relationship I had with someone way too young for me:

I am not a fan of either singer, by any means, but these bring back a few sweet memories.

Always Be My Baby – Mariah Carey

Because You Loved Me – Celine Dion

Songs that I fell in love for the first time to:

The Fourteenth of February – Billy Bragg (this one doesn’t have an available video, so I’m posting another of our songs)

Talk Tonight – Oasis

She’s the One – World Party

The only song I remember hearing on the night my heart was broken into a million pieces by the guy above:

Mambo 5 (& yet I still like that damn song for some reason!)


Song that the first guy I dated after the aforementioned guy broke my heart played for me on our first date:

Hang Down Your Head Tom Dooley – The Kingston Trio (I kid you not! – Now that I listen to the lyrics, I think I should have been more frightened by this)

Mine and My Husband’s Wedding Songs:

Oh My Love – John Lennon

La Vie En Rose – Louie Armstrong

The only song that seemed to play at our wedding reception because the person handling the music didn’t know how to work the CD player:

Afternoon Delight – The Starland Vocal Band (over & over again…very classy, eh?)

The music that my husband listens to while he’s working:

Skinny Puppy

Dead Can Dance

The Legendary Pink Dots

Throbbing Gristle

Cabaret Voltaire

The music that I listen to while I’m working:

Everything but the bands above

Music he and I enjoy together:

 

Rob Zombie

Soft Cell

The Cure

Most 80s new wave

Songs that I like to consider “our songs”:

 

You and Me – Alice Cooper

Perfect Day – Lou Reed

God Only Knows – The Beach Boys

It Must Be Love – Madness

Songs We Will Always Identify As “Our Songs” For Reasons That Shall Remain Between He and I:

A Taste of Honey – Herb Alpert & the Tijuana Brass

Tie a Yellow Ribbon – William Hung

My Hubby’s Favorite Song:

Tainted Love – Soft Cell

My Favorite Songs:  I have many favorites, but these are just about my top 2.

Out on the Weekend – Neil Young

Julia -The Beatles

Songs I will sing to our child if we are ever lucky and blessed enough to have one:

Everything from the Beatles and John Lennon–also some David Bowie, Rolling Stones, Iron & Wine, Simon & Garfunkel, Queen, Buck Owens, ELO, Pink Floyd

One thought on “My Life’s Soundtrack, Such As It Is…

Leave a Reply

